Practical Elements for Astrogram Design

We have learned that the planets, including the Sun and the Moon move approximately in the same plane and only within a specific area of the sky; called the zodiac. This movement is divided in turn into 12 sectors bearing a constellation”s name, from Aries to Pisces. For an astrogram to be charted, the exact position of the Sun, Moon and other planets at the birth time is required, as well as the geographical birthplace. This is described in degrees and minutes to position their place on the zodiac circle. The resulting natal chart allows one to describe the effect that the planets” specific complex and subtle influences will have on the personal characteristics of an individual. To configurate an astrogram it is necessary to know:

  • The birth date (the day, month and year);

  • The birth time (hour, minute) as accurately as possible;

  • The birthplace in terms of geographical coordinates (latitude and longitude).
The astrogram is composed of a circle divided into 12 sectors in which the twelve constellations are plotted.

The zodiac signs are classified according to:

  • Polarity:

    • positive (+), masculine: ^(Aries), `(Gemini), b(Leo), d(Libra), f(Sagittarius), h(Aquarius)

    • negative (–), feminine: _(Taurus), a(Cancer), c(Virgo), e(Scorpio), g(Capricorn), i(Pisces)

  • Vibration:

    • Cardinal: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn;

    • Fixed: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius;

    • Mutable: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces.

  • Element:

    • earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn;

    • water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces;

    • fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius;

    • air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius.
The governor (or ruler) planet of a sign is the planet whose astral characteristics are most in harmony with the sign. If a sign”s ruling planet is placed exactly in that sign, then the planet is said to be inside his domicile. Consequently the position of planet within the signs can be classified as:

  • Domicile – both the planet”s and the sign”s characteristics are best matched together;

  • Exaltation – when the particular planet”s characteristics are amplified, but less so than in the domicile;

  • Triplicity – when the planet is in the sign corresponding to the same element as the domicile sign;

  • Peregrine – the neutral position;

  • Falling – when the planet is in the sign opposite to the one of exaltation;

  • Exile (also detriment) – when the planet is in the sign opposite to the one of the domicile.

Also available in: Română

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More